The Karuizawa Dialogue

September 2018

From commitments to action

The Karuizawa Dialogue was the third keystone dialogue. This Stockholm Resilience Centre event was funded by the Walton Family Foundation, the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. HRH Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden participated in the dialogue with the SeaBOS member companies for the third time. The dialogue was hosted at the Prince Hotel West in Karuizawa, Japan. This keystone dialogue was supported by three scientific background briefs, to introduce results from surveys and interviews with SeaBOS member companies and extended supply chain members. The dialogue aimed for SeaBOS to move from commitments to action by formally establishing SeaBOS as an independent legal entity. SeaBOS members agreed on articles of association and a funding scheme, and appointed Mr Shigero Ito, CEO and President of Maruha Nichiro Corporation – the largest seafood company in the world, as the first chairman of the SeaBOS initiative. The next keystone dialogue is scheduled to take place in Bangkok in September 2019.

HRH Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden

Crown Princess Victoria is the eldest child of His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf and Her Majesty Queen Silvia. She is the heir to the Swedish throne. Crown Princess Victoria is an Advocate for the UN Sustainable Development Goals and has a strong personal commitment to healthy and sustainable food. Crown Princess Victoria studied Political Science and History at Yale University. She is a graduate of the Swedish Ministry for Foreign Affair’s Diplomatic Programme and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Uppsala University.


Maruha Nichiro Corporation, Nippon Suisan Kaisha, Ltd. (Nissui), Kyokuyo Co., Ltd. and Mitsubishi Corporation (parent company of SeaBOS member Cermaq) hosted the dialogue meeting.

SeaBOS Company representatives

The keystone actors at the Stockholm Dialogue were represented by Mr Shigeru Ito (President and CEO, Maruha Nichiro Corporation), Mr Masaru Ikemi (Director, Managing Executive Officer, Maruha Nichiro Corporation), Mr Osamu Momiyama (Director, Managing Executive Officer, Maruha Nichiro Corporation), Mr Yasuhiro Hasegawa (General Acting Manager of Corporate Planning Department, Maruha Nichiro Corporation), Mr Shoji Kishi (Deputy General Manager, Maruha Nichiro Corporation), Mr Akiyo Matono (President & CEO, Nippon Suisan Kaisha Ltd), Mr Toshiya Yabuki (General Manager, Nippon Suisan Kaisha), Eiichi Hiyoshi (Senior Advisor, CSR Department, Nippon Suisan Kaisha, Ltd), Mr Makoto Inoue (President, Kyokuyo Co. Ltd), Mr Kiyoshi Hattori (Chief of Division of CSR, Kyokuyo Ltd), Mr Alf-Helge Aarskog (CEO, Mowi ASA), Mr Thiraphong Chansiri (President and CEO, Thai Union), Dr Darian McBain (Global Director of Sustainability, Thai Union), Mr Myoung Woo Lee (CEO Dongwon Industries), Mr Jae Hwa Lee (Assistant Manager, Strategy Management Team, Dongwon Industries), Jun Young Kim (Senior Vice President, Strategic Planning, Dongwon Industries), Mr Knut Nesse (CEO and Chairman of the Executive Board, Nutreco), José Villalon (Corporate Sustainability Director, Nutreco), Ms Therese Log Bergjord (CEO Skretting/COO Nutreco), Dr Einar Wathne (Group Leader and President, Cargill Aqua Nutrition), Mr Dave Robb (Sustainability Manager, Cargill Aqua Nutrition), Mr Geir Molvik (CEO Cermaq, representative of Mitsubishi Corporation), Ms Wenche Grønbrekk (Head of Sustainability and Risk, Cermaq, representative of Mitsubishi Corporation), Mr Sujint Thammasart, D.V.M., Chief Operating Officer – Aquaculture Business, Charoen Pokphand Foods Company Limited), Mr Pitipong Dejjarukul (Vice President, Feed Raw Materials Office, Aqua-business, Charoen Pokphand Foods Company Limited).

Other Company representatives

Yutaka Kyoya (Executive Vice President, Mitsubishi Corporation), Yasumasa Kashiwagi (Senior Vice President, Mitsubishi Corporation), Zeng Yue Xiang (CEO, Ocean Family)


Ambassador Magnus Robach (Swedish Ambassador to Japan)


The Stockholm Resilience Centre (SRC) team consisted of Professor Carl Folke (Science Director) and Professor Henrik Österblom (Deputy Science Director)